Pop! Time for Piper-Heidsieck!

Piper-Heidsieck.  What can I say…my first real sip of Champagne was Piper-Heidsieck Cuvee Brut (P-H) and I have had a love affair with that red label ever since.  I love Pinot Noir driven Champagnes and Piper delivers at 55% Pinot Noir, 30% Pinot Meunier and 15% Chardonnay.  While most people use Veuve Cliquot as their “go-to” Champagne, I prefer the Piper because it has a cleaner, lightly toasty flavor that is juicy, mouth-watering and structured.

P-H was establised in 1785 and legend has it that a bottle from that vintage was presented to Marie Antoinette.  So it’s pretty easy to say, P-H has a long history of being a favorite of royals (still the purveyor to 14 royal and imperial courts!) and since I am royalty in my own mind, it only makes sense that I love the Piper.

Starting with unconventional ads in the 1930s and moving into unconventional bottle designs in the last decades, P-H gives a flair that was rarely seen in the early days of advertising.  Following that tradition, Bauer had to add to give their own pizzazz to the new Piper window display by including Sofia as part of the design.  She loves this new window!

So here are some of their ads for you to take a peak at:

1934

1949

1951

1957

1960

1973

And then came designer bottles:

Christian Louboutin's take on drinking Champagne from a ladies shoe

The Corset bottle

The upside down bottle

One more unconventional way of selling themselves: Chewing tobacco that was flavored with P-H Champagne grapes featured in ads in Popular Mechanics from 1914-1919!

Marilyn Monroe once said that she “went to bed every night with Chanel No. 5 behind my ears and woke up each morning with a glass of Piper-Heidsieck.”  To me, Monroe was the living embodiment of what P-H’s distinctive red label symbolizes, enthusiasm, passion, panache, and excellence.  That is why I stand by “my first Champagne” when I am celebrating life’s achievements or just enjoying my everyday world.  Choosing Piper-Heidsieck means you don’t have to break the bank in order to have a delicious sip of Champagne!

One response to “Pop! Time for Piper-Heidsieck!

  1. Piper was my first taste of Champagne, too. I will forever be grateful to my grandfather for teaching me that it is better to taste something wonderful than to overindulge in something that’s not — and for doing so when I was a mere 8 years old! Cheers to Sofia for inserting herself into a display of joy! Happy Easter, Happy Spring, Happy Bubbles!

Leave a Reply

